This is my Virtual Welcome Mat!
Take your shoes off and stay a while!
My main blog is over here at ilovemy5kids!

I'm a Christ-follower who has a household of 7 - who sometimes writes reviews, all with a Family Friendly perspective.

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Tomorrow's Garden by Amanda Cabot Book Review

From the Publisher:   
Author Amanda Cabot takes readers back to Ladreville, Texas for the conclusion of the Texas Dreams series. Tomorrow’s Garden (ISBN: 978-0-8007-3326-1, April 2011 $14.99) is set in the 1850’s with authentic Texas essence and romance. Read as part of the series or as a stand alone title, readers will enjoy this story about Harriet Kirk and her love for family and dedication to their survival. 

Leaving the past behind, Harriett Kirk moves her family to the Texas hill country for a new beginning. Becoming Ladreville's new schoolteacher is just what Harriet needs--a chance to put the past behind her and give her younger siblings a brighter tomorrow. What she didn't count on was meeting the handsome former Texas Ranger Lawrence Wood--or the way he slowly but surely claims her fragile heart. But can Harriet and Lawrence ever truly put the past behind them in order to find happiness?

My Review:
This is a book that took you back in the day of Little House on the Prairie.  I can just imagine the cute little schoolhouse in the town of Laudreville.  I love that the author even gives a map at the beginning of the book to explain the format of the town.
This was the 3rd book in the Texas Dreams series.  You do not have to read the first two to understand the story, which I appreciate about these books.
The story itself is about heartbreak, growing up, and responsibility.   When I read a book, I always try to picture myself in it.  I'm not sure if I could handle the responsibility that was thwarted on the Harriet Kirk.  I enjoyed reading about her ventures and what God had for her.
Due to some of the mature nature of the book - I could not recommend it for younger eyes.

Blessings to you!  You are loved!

“Available April 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Note:  I was sent complimentary copy for review purposes only.  This review has not been monetarily compensated.  The review was my honest opinion and views and not influenced by the sponsor in any way.

No comments: